yorkemc.co.uk » News »

YES & The Department of Electronics scoop both best paper awards at IEEE EMC 2004

[Andy Marvin & Andrew Rowell presented with their awards]

Kimball Williams (centre) presents Andy Marvin and Andrew Rowell with their award for the best IEEE Transaction Paper 2004.

York EMC Services Ltd (YES) is proud to return from the IEEE EMC 2004 event in Santa Clara with both prestigious awards for Best Conference Paper and Best IEEE Transaction Paper for 2004.

Apart from the student entry category, these were the only two awards available for IEEE EMC Society Papers, making the achievements of YES and University staff even more commendable.

Janet O'Neill (Editor, EMC Society Newsletter) praised YES staff by saying “You should be very proud of your organisation. I am not sure if the two highest paper awards have ever been given to authors from the same organisation before.”

The Best Conference Paper Award was for “Improved Measurement of Radiated Emissions from Moving Rail Vehicles in the Frequency Range 9KHz to 1GHz” by YES staff Andrew Rowell, Steve Seller, Didier Bozec, Les McCormack, Chris Marshman and Andy Marvin.

The winning team]

The award-winning YES and Department of Electronics team in York.

The Best IEEE Transaction Paper also went to Andy Marvin, Technical Director of York EMC Services Ltd, for his work on developing a novel investigative technique to assess the failure threshold of digital electronic devices using the re-radiated emissions of equipment subjected to an incident field.

“To have the achievements of our EMC specialists acknowledged on such a global scale serves to highlight the exceptional, world-class expertise of our team at York EMC Services Ltd and proves that we truly are at the forefront of EMC research” said Chris Marshman, Managing Director. “These achievements illustrate that the spin-off activity of a University can work with and benefit University research”.

[Andy Marvin & Andrew Rowell presented with their awards]

Andrew Rowell and Didier Bozec are presented with their award for Best Conference Paper 2004.

The awards were presented personally to YES staff at a specially organised ceremony attended by the majority of conference delegates on 12 August 2004.

Last updated: 2004-Sep-28